Different products, different decisions
What the US listings actually say.
Each displayed product price was below $50 when checked on September 27, 2026. That is a price per product, not a complete routine or delivered total. Prices, promotions, formulas, and availability can change; compare the exact package before ordering.
| Product | Format and ingredient detail | Displayed USD price | Buying distinction |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Ordinary Salicylic Acid 2% Solution | Water-based leave-on serum; 2% salicylic acid | $6.03 promotional; $6.70 regular, 30 mL | Lowest listed purchase price among these four; not a cleanser |
| CeraVe Renewing SA Cleanser | Rinse-off cleanser; salicylic acid percentage not stated on the checked US page | $15.99 manufacturer reference; confirm bottle size and retailer total | Do not confuse it with CeraVe Acne Control Cleanser or assume 2% |
| La Roche-Posay Effaclar BPO Multi-Target Acne Treatment | Leave-on acne treatment; 5.5% benzoyl peroxide | $39.99, selected 40 mL option | Contains benzoyl peroxide; a different formula from Effaclar Duo+M |
| IMAGE CLEAR CELL clarifying acne spot treatment | Leave-on gel; 2% salicylic acid | $38.00 one-time purchase; US label lists a 14 g tube | Higher purchase price than The Ordinary; no comparative outcome test here |
Sources: the manufacturer pages linked in each section below; IMAGE US label on DailyMed for package weight. CeraVe's reference price is not a verified retailer offer. Prices exclude shipping and tax.
Lowest listed purchase price
The Ordinary Salicylic Acid 2% Solution.
The US listing identifies a water-based serum with 2% salicylic acid as its acne-treatment active. Its 30 mL bottle had the lowest displayed price in this comparison. That makes it the price-first option to discuss if this is already the type of product you intend to buy; it does not establish better results or suitability for your skin.
The brand warns that combining it with another topical acne medication increases the chance of dryness and irritation. Check the product's full directions and compatibility guidance before purchase.
Check The Ordinary's US formula, directions, and current price ↗ Non-affiliate link
Rinse-off cleanser
CeraVe Renewing SA Cleanser.
CeraVe's US page lists salicylic acid, niacinamide, hyaluronic acid, and three ceramides. It describes a fragrance-free cleanser that is rinsed off. The salicylic acid concentration is not stated in the checked listing, so we do not assign a percentage or treat it as interchangeable with a 2% leave-on product.
Compare this when shopping specifically for a cleanser. It is not a universal recommendation for every person with acne, and an ingredient list cannot prove that it will suit you. Verify the Renewing SA name, bottle size, package ingredients, and retailer price.
See CeraVe's US ingredient list and retailer options ↗ Non-affiliate link
The formula correction
Effaclar BPO is a benzoyl peroxide treatment.
The current US Effaclar BPO Multi-Target Acne Treatment lists 5.5% benzoyl peroxide. It is a leave-on treatment, and the merchant warns that it may discolor fabrics. The selected 40 mL listing displayed $39.99.
The old US Effaclar Duo is listed as discontinued and also contained 5.5% benzoyl peroxide. Our earlier article incorrectly described it as an alternative to that ingredient. We have replaced that recommendation with the clearly named current BPO product. Effaclar Duo+M is a separate salicylic acid formula; the similar names are not a reason to treat them as interchangeable.
This entry is for comparing a benzoyl peroxide product's label and cost, not a recommendation to add it to the other treatments here.
Check the current Effaclar BPO US listing and warnings ↗ Non-affiliate link
Another 2% salicylic acid option
IMAGE CLEAR CELL clarifying acne spot treatment.
IMAGE lists a leave-on gel with 2% salicylic acid, priced at $38 for a one-time purchase when checked. The ingredient list also includes zinc PCA and tea tree leaf oil. We have not shown that these additions produce better results than the lower-priced alternative, and sharing an active percentage does not make two finished formulas identical.
The US label on DailyMed lists a 14 g tube and includes sensitivity, irritation, and fabric-bleaching warnings. Read the actual package label; our earlier blanket reassurance about fabrics was incorrect.
Check price at IMAGE Skincare Paid affiliate link · opens merchant site
Make the comparison useful
Buy for a defined need, not a four-product routine.
Confirm the exact US product.
Match the full product name, active ingredient, concentration where declared, and package size. Similar brand names can conceal materially different formulas. The package you receive is the final label to check.
Separate cleanser and treatment costs.
A rinse-off cleanser and a leave-on treatment have different roles. We have not measured dose or how long a container lasts, so this guide does not claim a cost per use. Compare delivered prices for the exact sizes you intend to buy.
Read directions before combining products.
This list is not a layering schedule. The American Academy of Dermatology advises using acne treatments as directed and avoiding practices that irritate skin. Take questions about combining treatments or choosing an active ingredient to a pharmacist or dermatologist.
Keep outcome claims separate from shopping facts.
We have verified the published formula information, not how your skin will respond. No product here earns an effectiveness ranking from this research. If you need a treatment plan, a product comparison cannot supply that assessment.
Questions before checkout.
Does under $50 mean the whole routine?
No. The comparison records individual product prices at the time of research. It does not price a complete routine, include delivery or tax, or suggest buying all four.
Are all four products salicylic acid treatments?
No. Effaclar BPO lists benzoyl peroxide. CeraVe Renewing SA is a rinse-off cleanser with an undisclosed salicylic acid percentage in the checked listing. The Ordinary and IMAGE each declare 2% salicylic acid.
Which one works best?
This research cannot establish that. We have not compared clinical outcomes or performed a user trial. The useful distinctions here are the formula, format, exact product identity, and dated purchase price.
Evidence and changes
Sources checked September 27, 2026.
Manufacturer sources establish the listed formula and offer, not an independent performance finding. Product pages can change. This guide was first published June 5, 2026.
- The Ordinary US product page — active ingredient, format, size, displayed prices, and usage warnings.
- CeraVe US product page — ingredient list, rinse-off format, and manufacturer reference price.
- Current Effaclar BPO US page — declared active, selected size and price, fabric warning, and distinction from Duo+M.
- Discontinued US Effaclar Duo page — previous product identity and benzoyl peroxide formula.
- IMAGE Skincare US product page — active ingredient, ingredient list, format, and one-time price. This source link is unpaid.
- IMAGE US Drug Facts label on DailyMed (PDF) — package weight and label warnings.
- American Academy of Dermatology: skin-care habits that can worsen acne — general guidance on irritation and following treatment directions.
We corrected the Effaclar formula error, replaced the discontinued product entry, and removed the claim that all four products are salicylic-acid-based and cannot bleach fabrics. We also removed the unsupported morning/evening regimen, efficacy rankings, universal suitability claims, and purported cost-per-use calculation. Prices now carry a check date, and the comparison states what the source research can establish.
Spotted a changed formula or an error? Contact BestPicks with the product and source.